Vimeo supports file version history for Pro, Business, and Premium members.
This means that each time you upload a new version of your video, the previous versions will be preserved on the video’s settings page, keeping your videos organized for easy comparison and organization. Your video’s version history also keeps all of your notes, review pages, and changes organized in one place, allowing easy access for your team for collaboration in the process.
Replacing your video
To get started using the video versions feature, log in to your Vimeo account, navigate to your video manager, click into the video whose version you want to update, and click the Advanced button. Open the Collaboration tab and go to the Versions section. Once there, you’ll be able to click “Replace video” and upload a new version of your video. Replacing the file doesn’t change the URL of the video or the video’s review page.
After the upload is complete, the replacement video will be transcoded; once it’s finished, it will become the current version. The old video version will appear on the settings page with its filename, size, and timestamp. Under the History heading, you’ll see the username of the video’s uploader (useful if you’re working with a team). Note that team members granted "Viewer" access cannot access version history as they cannot edit videos.
You’ll also be able to download or delete versions from there as well. (Please note that if you delete a video version, you won’t be able to restore it.)
Review pages for versions
If you have a review page associated with your video, any notes associated with previous versions will remain in place. When you’re on the review page, you’ll be able to see an abbreviated version of the video’s version history for quick reference as well — just click the dropdown menu at the top of the review page, where you see your video’s name.
From here, you’ll also be able to jump between versions to track changes and review notes across all your video’s iterations.
Comments left on a version of that video will only appear on that version, and any reviewers or clients who get the review page link but aren’t on your team will only be able to see the current version of your video on its review page.
Versions on the simplified video settings page
If you are an Enterprise member, you can see any version associated with your video, along with the notes left on each respective version using the version menu bar below the player on the simplified video settings page.
Source files and versions
If you’ve opted to store your source files on Vimeo, only the source file for the current version (i.e., the latest upload) will be saved.
Versions and quota
When replacing a video, the amount of quota space used will depend on when the original source file was uploaded and your account type.
- Basic and Plus Members:
- The previous version of your video will be deleted during the replacement process.
- If the original source file was uploaded within the current quota week, then only the difference in source file sizes will count against your weekly quota.
- If the original source file was uploaded outside of the current quota week, then the full size of the replacement source file will count against your weekly quota.
- Pro, Business, Premium and Enterprise members:
- We'll automatically store all previous versions of your video instead of deleting them. As a result, the full size of the replacement file will be applied to your current weekly quota or total storage limit.