As a Vimeo Pro, Business, or Premium member, you can invite team members to your account to help upload and manage your videos and collections. PRO members can add up to 3 team members to their account and Vimeo Business and Premium members can add up to 10.
Here's a short video about how team members work on an account:
Team member types
There are three permission types for team members: uploaders, contributors, and admin. All types will need to make their own Vimeo account in order to be able to join a team.
Uploaders can only upload videos to your account. On their upload page, they will be able to toggle between uploading videos to their own account and uploading videos to your account. Uploaders will only be able to edit the title and description of the video while it is being uploaded to your account. Any videos an uploader adds to your account will have the privacy setting Only Me, but as the account owner, you can change the video's privacy setting after upload.
Note: Uploaders will need to make sure they select the correct account from their upload page.
Contributors can be invited to access a specific project within your account. They’ll have the ability to upload, edit, review, share, and publish videos within a project, but won’t have access to any of your other projects or areas of your account. A contributor also won’t be able to change the title of a project, delete a project, or delete a video from the owner's account. They can view settings of a video in that project as well as the analytics tab, which has numbers from the past 30 days but won't have access to advanced analytics for the video. Contributors will see the option to switch between your account and their own from their profile picture menu.
Then, once they go to the Video Manager, they will be able to only see the projects that they have been invited to.
In addition, contributors on a Premium account can access settings of an archived live event within the project folder to which they contribute. Contributors can start a live event to Vimeo if they are using an external encoder via RTMP (after the Owner or Admin creates an event and provides the Contributor to with the RTMP URL and Stream Key). Take note that if the Vimeo account is connected to other social accounts such as Facebook, then any live events the Contributor starts from their encoder will also simulcast to that destination.
Admins can access your account to help you upload and manage all your videos, projects, and collections. As with Contributors, they will see the option to switch between your account and their own in their profile picture menu. They can quickly tell which account they are navigating by looking at the profile picture; if their photo overlaps with yours, then they are in your account.
Admins will not be able to access your account settings or payment information. Admins also cannot delete videos; only the account owner can do this.
Admins have access to all other account features, including:
- Purchasing Vimeo On Demand titles
- Setting up Vimeo On Demand titles for sale, including entering a PayPal email address to receive payment for sales
- Creating, managing, and deleting collections
- Creating, managing, and deleting projects
- Changing the privacy settings of your videos
- Viewing advanced analytics of your videos
Admins on Premium accounts can additionally do the following:
- Create live events
- Adjust privacy settings, embed customization, and interaction tool settings for live events
- Stream to live events using WebRTC or RTMP from an external encoder
- End live events
Please note that Admins on Premium accounts cannot access Simulcast settings, Authenticate API encoders (e.g. Livestream Studio, Mevo), or delete live events.
In addition, team members and administrators cannot manage or create developer apps for a parent Pro, Business, or Premium account.
Adding a team member to your account
To add a team member, click the "Manage Team" tab in your Account Settings. You’ll see all your existing team members on this page (by default, it’s just you listed there). Click the "+ Add team member" link on the right side of the page, and a module will pop up. You’ll need to enter your team member’s email address, then select Uploader, Contributor, or Admin from the dropdown menu. For Contributors, you’ll need to select the project they’ll be working out of before you send the invite.
You can also add a Contributor directly to a project from your Video Manager. Select the project you want to add a contributor to, click the + icon (between your profile picture and the Video Manager search bar) to pull up a menu that shows all the team members currently on the project (by default, it’s just you). Click “Add,” type in the email address of the Contributor, then hit the “Send” button to invite them to your project.
Pro tip: enter the email address associated with their existing Vimeo account if they have one!
✦ Accepting an invitation to join a team
Any person you invite to be an Uploader, Contributor, or Admin to your account will need to log into their own Vimeo account or create a Vimeo account (if they don’t have one) before they can accept your invitation. Make sure the email address you invite matches the email address your team member uses to create an account.
After you (the account owner) send the invite, the team member will appear in your team list with a status of “Pending.” If the person you’ve added still hasn’t responded to your invite, you can send them a reminder. Hover over the “Pending” status and click the “Send reminder” link that appears.
If your team member is having trouble receiving the invite email, you can send them a direct invite URL by hovering over the Pending status and clicking “Copy invite link” and sending it directly to your team member. Please note that this link is unique to each individual team member, so it can’t be used to invite others to the account. Once a team member accepts the invitation, the “Copy invite link” option will not appear any longer.
Removing a team member from your account
You can revoke a team member’s access to your Vimeo account at any time by clicking the gray “X” at the end of the member’s row on the Manage Team page. Only the account owner has the ability to remove team members from an account, but admins can remove contributors from a project.