If you have a Plus account or higher, you can choose to store your source files on Vimeo.
In this article:
Enable source file storage
To enable source file storage, follow these steps:
- Go to your Account Settings and click the Videos tab.
- Select Upload Defaults.
- Under the heading "Video preferences," check the box next to "Keep source video files." Once that's checked, your source files will be stored on any uploads you make going forward.
Note: Checking the box will not restore any files that have already been removed. The same goes for when you upgrade — once your membership is at Plus or above, you'll have to go and manually enable this setting.
Download your source files
If you store your source files, you will be able to download them at any time. If you enable downloads on your videos, any of your viewers will also be able to download your source file in addition to any Vimeo versions (HD, etc.)
Tip: The Vimeo HD versions of your videos are often smaller than your source files, even though the quality is not noticeably different. We recommend having viewers download your Vimeo HD versions to minimize download time without sacrificing quality.
Lost source files
By default, your source file will be permanently deleted if you are a Basic member or if you are a paid member but haven't enabled source file storage in your account settings as described above.
You also must maintain your paid membership to keep your source files. If your paid membership lapses, your source files will be deleted after 60 days.
Note: Any source files uploaded via an API pull application (like Dropbox, Google Drive, One Drive, Custom App, etc.) prior to September 2016 cannot be downloaded, regardless of whether you enabled the setting in your video preferences.