If you choose not to renew your Business, PRO, or Plus membership on Vimeo and your membership expires, your account will downgrade to Basic Membership upon expiration.
If your paid membership lapses to Basic, you will lose access to certain features, depending on the membership type:
- Vimeo Premium accounts that lapse will lose access to Business-level features, plus all live stream-related features, including unlimited streaming hours and 5TB of storage for archived Live events.
- Vimeo Business accounts that lapse will lose access to Google Analytics, team collaboration, lead generation, priority conversion, VIP support, Advanced Stats, custom embed settings, domain-level privacy, Portfolios, Review Pages, FTP uploading, SEO support for Showcases, and Vimeo On Demand.
- Vimeo PRO accounts that lapse will lose access to priority conversion, VIP support, Advanced Stats, custom embed settings, domain-level privacy, Portfolios, Review Pages, FTP uploading, and Vimeo On Demand.
- Vimeo Plus accounts that lapse to Basic will lose access to priority conversion, priority support, Advanced Stats, custom embed settings, and domain-level privacy.
If your paid membership expires, you will keep any videos you uploaded while you were a Basic member, but you may lose some of the videos uploaded during your subscription. Though there is a 5GB total storage cap on Basic accounts, if you downgrade from a paid membership plan to Basic, you will still get to keep 10GB of the video you uploaded most recently during your membership. Any storage above the 10GB cap will be moved to our archive for storage up to one year, starting with the earliest videos you uploaded to Vimeo as a paid subscriber. If you renew your Business, PRO, or Plus membership during that time, you’ll regain access to those videos.
Weekly upload limits
After your account lapses, you will have a weekly upload limit of 500MB up to 5GB total account storage. So, if your total video storage exceeds 5GB, you will lose the ability to upload new content upon lapsing. You can free up storage on your existing account by deleting some of your older videos, rough cuts, or backups until you are under the 5GB cap.
You will keep and be able to edit the groups, channels, and showcases you created as a paid member, but you will not be able to create new ones beyond the Basic limits.
Because it’s costly to store source files, we only offer that service to paying members. If your paid membership lapses, any source files that were stored on Vimeo will be deleted after 60 days and cannot be recovered. The HD and SD versions of your videos will remain available.
Privacy and embed settings
Videos set to “Only people with the private link” and “Hide this video from vimeo.com” privacy will be set to “Only Me” instead. If your account is in Private Mode and you lapse, all your videos will be set to the "Only Me" setting.
Any videos with custom embed settings will revert to the default embed options for Basic accounts. If you have domain-level privacy set on your video, your embed privacy setting will be changed to “Nowhere.” That means you will need to change the setting to “Anywhere” in order to keep it embedded.
If you renew your paid membership, your advanced settings will automatically be restored. Any videos you haven’t modified since lapsing will go back to how they were before your account lapsed to Basic.
Per Vimeo Guidelines, you must maintain at least a Pro-level membership to host videos for commercial or business purposes on Vimeo. Commercial accounts that lapse to Basic may be removed by a Vimeo moderator unless they renew their PRO or Business membership.