Every live event can include a live chat where your viewers can comment and discuss the event amongst each other as it’s happening on your event page or on your site via the embedded chat. As the event owner, you have the ability to moderate this chat as well with comment deletion and banning capabilities.
⚠️Note: There are other interactive tools you can use for your events such as polls and Q&A. Chat is best for general discussion among your viewers.
Enabling & disabling chat
Chat is disabled by default. You can see this from the Live Settings page right after you create your event under the Onsite tab. Toggle the Chat switch to enable it (it will turn blue).
If you plan on embedding your event, navigate to the Embed tab on the Live Settings page. In addition to the player embed, you can also embed the chat module. Click Chat embed code to grab the iframe to paste into your website.
Once your settings for your event are configured, click Next to provision your event. In the left navigation menu, select Chat. You can enable and disable chat from here at any point during your event by clicking the More Options (•••) icon at the top.
On the Vimeo site, the chat will appear to the right of the live player. The ••• menu here contains options to minimize and pop it out into its own window for your viewers, in addition to enable/disable options for you.
Your chat will be available on your Vimeo event page and the chat embed once it is enabled. This means viewers can start chatting even if you haven’t gone live yet. They can log in to an account or chat as a guest and post messages up to 280 characters long. Chat participants can also delete their own messages if they wish (but nobody else's). The chat will remain active until you finish your stream (unless you disable it).
During the course of your event, you can delete individual comments or ban a user entirely either via the Chat tab in the Live Preview page or on your stream’s public page on Vimeo. Hover your cursor over their message and select the Trash icon to delete a comment or the Block icon to block the user. The offending user can still comment, however, their comments will no longer be visible to any other participants so it will appear that they are being ignored by everyone else. You can also unblock the user if you wish.
After the event
Once your event is over, the chat will deactivate. Viewers would need to comment below the player once the video archives instead. Note that chat messages do not appear as comments after the event ends.
You can download a transcript of your chat from the Live Preview page by navigating to the Chat tab, clicking the More Options icon (•••) above the chat, and selecting either Current session for the event you just streamed or an event’s date (if this is a recurring event) for a previous event. This will download the transcript as a .txt file. Chat transcripts are available to download for 30 days.
💡Tip: If you want to download a chat transcript of a one-time event, you should either do it immediately or navigate back to the archive’s video page (e.g. vimeo.com/1234567), then input the following into your browser’s address bar: vimeo.com/live/1234567/stream#chat; navigate to that address within 30 days of your event and you will be able to download your transcript.