Vimeo’s Enterprise Data Retention tool allows account owners and admins to apply data retention policies to folders and user groups in your account. The videos associated with these folders & groups will be automatically deleted after the duration specified by your data retention policy. The data retention tool helps you to get rid of any outdated and irrelevant videos based on your selected policy and duration, helping you better manage your video library as well as the risk associated with user-generated content.
Features of the Enterprise Data Retention Tool
- Account owners and admins can create new and edit existing data retention policies. Contributors and viewers do not have access to the enterprise data retention tool.
- Retention policies can be applied to folders and/or groups in the account. The videos uploaded in the “Private to me” folders by users in these groups will be deleted based on the duration set by the retention policies.
- The videos in each folder/group will be deleted based on the duration set by the retention policy. The video will be deleted once that duration has elapsed after the video has been uploaded.
- For new default policies, both existing and new content will be affected, meaning videos older than X days/years will be automatically deleted unless they are in a folder or owned by a group with a different policy.
- Retention policies can be set for the desired time period of days, months, or years. You cannot create a policy of fewer than 7 days or more than 50 years.
- Admins are able to recover videos that data retention policies have deleted in the last 30 days. They can also view a history of videos that have been deleted by data retention policies if they were deleted over 30 days ago.
Owners and Admins can also set a legal hold on specific videos that prevents them from being deleted (both by a user or by a retention policy) in case the video is being investigated for legal reasons.